Join us for a taster of the very finest Jewish writing from around the globe as we celebrated the books which were shortlisted for this year’s Wingate Literary Prize.

The BBC’s Emily Kasriel was in conversation with some of the shortlisted authors and judges, with the evening culminating in the exciting announcement of the 2021 Wingate Literary Prize winner.

The 2021 short-listed books were:

House of Glass by Hadley Freeman [HarperCollins]
On Division by Goldie Goldbloom [Farrah Straus & Giroux]
The Slaughterman's Daughter by Yaniv Iczkovits. Translation by Orr Scharf [Maclehose]
Nobody Will Tell You This But Me by Bess Kalb
Little Brown Apeirogon by Colum McCann [Bloomsbury]
When Time Stopped by Ariana Neumann [Simon & Schuster]
We are the Weather by Jonathan Safran Foer [Hamish Hamilton/ Penguin]

This year’s judging panel comprised of former Senior Rabbi to Reform Judaism Rabbi Laura Janner-Klausner; broadcaster, writer and film-maker Bidisha; author and Economist magazine culture editor A.D. Miller; and award-winning biographer and historian Anne Sebba.